30 Day Blog Challenge – Day 4

marie

Today’s challenge is to discuss my favorite picture of my best friend.

Bestie and I have been together for about 7 years.  We met in dance class for our oldest daughters.  I showed up to this class in my favorite holey jeans, stained hoodie and flip  flops.  I decided that I wasn’t going to talk to “those moms” and I would sit there and read a book and live happily ever after.  Then, about half way through the first class, this girl looked at me and said “What’s your name? We’re going to be friends”.

What the what? Who does that?  She does.  She was right.  If we had to sit there and suffer, we might as well be friends.  And so it was.  She doesn’t judge.  She listens.  She understands that we both have lives, jobs, responsibilities, husbands and kids.  If we don’t talk for a week or 2, that’s fine.  If we don’t see each other for 3 months, that’s fine.  We pick up right where we left off.  She knows my crazy and I know hers.  If I want to throat punch number 1, she offers to hold him for me.  She knows I won’t do it.  We’ve cried together.  We’ve laughed together.  We’ve discussed running away, hiding bodies, day drinking, day smoking and everything in between.  All of which we will never do, but damn it sounds good sometimes.

My favorite picture of Bestie is from a party at her house.  We may or may not have had a few margaritas.  She wanted a tattoo, right then.  I reminded her that it was her kiddos birthday party so it was a bit inappropriate to leave.  She was sad at me. ❤ I love you Bestie!!!

Leave a Reply

