Random acts of humanity

As all of this technology gets more advanced, life seems to be more complicated. Everyone’s schedules are booked to the minute. Most people are oblivious to the world outside of their bubble.

As I sit here at the doctor, there are people from all walks of life. No one greets each other. No smiles are exchanged, except for a few old timers.

I’ve done some experimenting lately. I’ve been looking at name tags and thanking people by name. I did this once at McDonald’s drive thru and the guy looked at me like I was insane. If I do it at the grocery store with an older cashier, I don’t get the funny looks.

Where is the breakdown. I know the WWII generation were taught manners. Where is the disconnect? Are we too busy for a moment of kindness? Can we step away from the flow charts and spreadsheets in our minds to use someone’s name and look them in the eye?

I would like to challenge the world to do just that. Look someone in the eye and acknowledge that there’s a human in front of you. The service industry workers are not robots (yet). They are humans with hearts and souls. Find something nice to say, strike up the nerve, say it and make it genuine.

Leave a Reply

